Gorba - Geelong Off Road Buggy Association

Christmas Greetings - 2018

Sincerely wishing all our Club Members a safe and joyful Christmas, shared with family and friends. We look forward to seeing you...


News Details

Message from the President

Date: 30th November 2015 | Category: GORBA NEWS
I wanted to thank all of those who helped to make last Saturday night’s GORBA Presentation Night such a roaring success.

A huge thanks to Brooke Mott. She works so hard to organise all of the raffle prizes.

Thanks to Tim Harris for his work as MC for the night and for organising the venue.

Thanks to Eddie Wilson for organising the caterers.

Thankyou also to everyone who donated all of the items for the raffle.

Thank you to everyone who attended and made the night a great social event for the club.

Thanks to Andy Fox for sorting out a small glitch with the computer.

A massive thanks must go to Kaitlin and Chris Western for a fantastic presentation of their ‘epic’ 2014 Baja 1000 Race. What great speakers. They gave everyone of us a much better appreciation of all the blood sweat and tears that go with such a huge effort. The generosity that this fantastic couple have shown to our club members is absolutely awesome.

Be sure to visit their website at http://www.offroadrush.com.au. Also if you want to check out the Staging for the 2014 Baja 1000 click here.

Congratulations to everybody who was presented with an Award. Whether it was Victorian State Awards, Mallee Shield or GORBA Awards, well done.

I think a special mention should go to what I think are very important awards for GORBA; Craig Dixon for Club Champion Driver and his navigator Rod Knight as Club Champion navigator.

On par with this is the award for ‘Best Club Person of the Year’ which is the
“Red Trevean Memorial Award”, this was won by Kelly Kent. Kelly was so
surprised that she had won it. The amount of work that Kelly puts in to make
sure we all get something to eat at our Avalon events is fantastic.

The Club Championship being won by Craig and Rod just shows that to finish first, first you must finish.

Great effort to all of you.

Again thank you to everyone who contributed in any way, and thankyou to those that helped me out as well.

The following are the results of the 2016 GORBA Club Championship Awards.

1st Club Championship Driver: Craig Dixon
1st Club Championship Navigator: Rod Knight

2nd Club Championship Driver: David Nikiforoff
2nd Club Championship Navigator: Daniel Nikiforoff

3rd Club Championship Driver:  Mark Deacon
3rd Club Championship Navigator:  Brendan Payne

Club Ambassador: Ken Tocock

Best Club Person (Red Award): Kelly Kent

Rookie of the Year: Megan Marcus

Rollover of the Year: Craig Dixon

Chucky Award: James Carabott

The President’s Award for the “One Eyed Supporters” went to Mark and Nathan Hubbard for their fantastic effort at Griffith.

Special thanks to Wildman Racing for their “Buggies Are Best Award” which went to Colin McLaren.

I hope that everyone has a Merry Christmas and Happy and Prosperous New Year.


Colin McLaren
Author: Colin McLaren